Helen Oxenbury

Artist (United Kingdom)
  •   1,513 Artworks have been viewed 1,513 times.
  •   3 Artworks have been added to favourites 3 times.
  •   1 1 artwork.
  •   3 3 followers.


Helen Gillian Oxenbury is an English author and illustrator of picture books. She lives in North London with her husband John Burningham, another children's literature author and illustrator. She is a two-time winner and four-time runner-up for the annual Kate Greenaway Medal, the British librarians' award for illustration. For the 50th anniversary of that Medal (1955–2005) her 1999 illustrated edition of Alice's Adventures in Wonderland was named one of the top ten winning works. Oxenbury is one of fourteen illustrators to win two Kate Greenaway Medals. Oxenbury won the Medal in 1969; the two books cited were The Quangle Wangle's Hat, an edition of Edward Lear's 19th-century poem, and The Dragon of an Ordinary Family, a new story by Margaret Mahy, both published by Heinemann. From 1989 to 1994 she was the Highly Commended runner up four times and she won again for an edition of Alice in Wonderland (Walker, 1999). CILIP's retrospective citation says, "More abundantly illustrated than previous editions ... Alice herself is a child of today – casually dressed, personable and spirited." Alice was named one of the top ten Greenaway Medal-winning works by a 2007 panel, composing the ballot for a public election of the all-time favourite. Oxenbury won two "Emils", the Kurt Maschler Award by the Maschler publishers and Booktrust that annually (1982 to 1999) recognised one "work of imagination for children, in which text and illustration are integrated so that each enhances and balances the other." The first was for So Much by Trish Cooke, one of her Greenaway runners-up, and the second for Alice. Oxenbury also won three Nestlé Smarties Book Prizes (1985 to 2007), all in the 0–5 years category. The Smarties Prize winners were elected by children from shortlists composed by a panel. Oxenbury-illustrated picture books were the overall winners for 1989, We're Going on a Bear Hunt retold by Michael Rosen, and for 1991, Farmer Duck by Martin Waddell, another Greenaway runner up. So Much was the 1994 age group winner. Farmer Duck was also the 1991 Illustrated Children's Book of the Year (British Book Awards). Tickle, Tickle, written and illustrated by Oxenbury, won the 1999 Booktrust Early Years Award. In the United States, Big Momma Makes the World by Phillis Root won the Boston Globe–Horn Book Award, picture books category. [source]